Dr. des. Razak Khan


From Berlin to Delhi: Education, Intellectual Exchange and Politics of Translation in the life and writings of Sayyid Abid Husain (1896–1978)


My research project exam­ines the entan­gled nature of Indo-Ger­man intel­lec­tu­al his­to­ry. I explore intel­lec­tu­al and cul­tur­al trans­la­tions in the sphere of reform ped­a­gogy or “New Edu­ca­tion“ dom­i­nant at the turn of nine­teenth-cen­tu­ry Ger­many and fol­low their careers in late colo­nial and post-colo­nial India. I do so by trac­ing the intel­lec­tu­al net­works among Indi­an and Ger­man edu­ca­tion­ists and intel­lec­tu­als in Ger­many, espe­cial­ly in Berlin.

The main exem­plars in this his­to­ry are Sayyid Abid Husain (1896–1978) and Eduard Spranger (1882–1963) along with a larg­er enmeshed net­work of intel­lec­tu­als, stu­dents and oth­er actors who have left behind an archive spread over a cen­tu­ry and across con­ti­nents. Detail­ing the role played by the hith­er­to over­looked trans­la­tion of Ger­man texts into Urdu by Abid Husain is of par­tic­u­lar inter­est to this project in its attempt to offer a com­par­a­tive study of Ger­man con­cepts and their Indi­an equiv­a­lents in Urdu lan­guage. Spranger’s psy­cho­log­i­cal the­o­ry, and its rela­tion to ethics and val­ues, were cre­ative­ly recast in Husain’s own phi­los­o­phy of edu­ca­tion and prac­tices of ped­a­gogy that were put into prac­tice at Jamia Mil­ia Islamia, as well as with­in his own house­hold in Del­hi.

I plan to relo­cate the per­son­al his­to­ry of Abid Husain and his fam­i­ly with­in the larg­er ques­tion of minor­i­ty iden­ti­ty and cit­i­zen­ship. Thus, my project will also locate the com­par­a­tive his­to­ry of minori­ties in and through edu­ca­tion­al­ist think­ing and cit­i­zen­ship ques­tion. I do so by com­par­ing how con­cepts, which were so cru­cial with­in Ger­many regard­ing the role and rights of the elite Jew­ish minor­i­ty, were re-nego­ti­at­ed by intel­lec­tu­als among the mid­dle-class Mus­lims espe­cial­ly at Jamia Mil­ia Islamia who were also involved in the nation­al cul­ture debates on edu­ca­tion and cit­i­zen­ship in colo­nial and post-colo­nial India. The project remains com­mit­ted to explore the ques­tion of class and gen­der pol­i­tics with­in com­par­a­tive his­to­ries of minor­i­ty edu­ca­tion and cit­i­zen­ship ideals. Cru­cial­ly, the project does not empha­size a “deriv­a­tive dis­course” and its export to the colony from metrop­o­lis. Instead, it explores the transna­tion­al his­to­ry of ideas and con­cep­tu­al change that marks the process of trans­la­tion and inter­pre­ta­tion. In illu­mi­nat­ing the man­ner in which Ger­man thought served as a palimpsest for Urdu writ­ings, the project remains com­mit­ted to exam­in­ing the pol­i­tics of trans­la­tion of con­cepts and intel­lec­tu­al thought with­in larg­er crit­i­cal social his­to­ry.

Dr. des. Razak Khan


Von Berlin nach Delhi: Bildung, intellektueller Austausch und die Politik kulturellen Übersetzens im Leben und Werk von Sayyid Abid Husain (1896–1978)

Mein For­schungs­pro­jekt ana­ly­siert die inein­an­der ver­floch­te­nen Bezie­hun­gen deutsch-indi­scher Geis­tes­ge­schich­te anhand kul­tu­rel­ler Über­set­zun­gen im Bereich der Reform­päd­ago­gik, bzw. „New Edu­ca­ti­on“ um 1900 und ihre Aus­wir­kun­gen im kolo­nia­len und post-kolo­nia­len Indi­en. Dazu unter­su­che ich Netz­wer­ke zwi­schen indi­schen und deut­schen Bil­dungs­re­for­mern und Intel­lek­tu­el­len in Deutsch­land, ins­be­son­de­re in Ber­lin.

Per­sön­lich­kei­ten wie Sayy­id Abid Husain (1896–1978) und Edu­ard Spran­ger (1882–1963), sowie ihre Schü­ler, Zeit­ge­nos­sen und ande­re Akteu­re hin­ter­lie­ßen Archiv­zeug­nis­se, die sich zeit­lich über ein Jahr­hun­dert und räum­lich über Kon­ti­nen­te hin­weg erstre­cken. Für eine ver­glei­chen­de Stu­die deut­scher Kon­zep­te und ihrer indi­schen Über­tra­gung ins Urdu bie­ten sich ins­be­son­de­re die bis­her unbe­ach­tet geblie­be­nen Über­set­zun­gen von Abid Husain an. Spran­gers psy­cho­lo­gi­sche Theo­ri­en in Ver­bin­dung mit Ethik und Wert­vor­stel­lun­gen spie­geln sich auf krea­ti­ve Wei­se in Husains eige­nen phi­lo­so­phi­schen Schrif­ten zu Bil­dung und päd­ago­gi­scher Pra­xis wie­der und wur­den sin der Fol­ge nicht nur an der Jamia Milia Isla­mia Uni­ver­si­tät in die Pra­xis umge­setzt, son­dern hiel­ten auch Ein­zug in Husains Heim in Delhi.

Anhand der geplan­ten Ein­bet­tung der Fami­li­en­ge­schich­te von Abid Usain in umfas­sen­de­re Fra­ge­stel­lun­gen zu Citi­zenship und der Iden­ti­tät reli­giö­ser Min­der­hei­ten lässt sich auf­zei­gen, wie der­ar­ti­ge Fra­gen auch das Den­ken der Bil­dungs­re­for­mer präg­ten. Mus­li­me aus der indi­schen Mit­tel­schicht, ins­be­son­de­re an der Jamia Milia Isla­mia, betei­lig­ten sich aktiv an natio­nal­kul­tu­rel­len Debat­ten zu Bil­dung und Citi­zenship im kolo­nia­len und post­ko­lo­nia­len Indi­en. Ich unter­su­che, wie dadurch Kon­zep­te neu ver­han­delt wur­den, die eine pro­mi­nen­te Stel­lung im deut­schen Dis­kurs zur Rol­le und zu den Rech­ten jüdi­scher Eli­ten in Deutsch­land ein­ge­nom­men hat­ten. Als wich­ti­ge Fak­to­ren für eine ver­glei­chen­de Geschich­te von Citi­zenship und Min­der­hei­ten-Iden­ti­tä­ten wer­den auch Kate­go­ri­en wie Klas­se und Geschlecht (gen­der) berück­sich­tigt. In die­sem Pro­jekt geht es jedoch nicht um die Unter­su­chung „deri­va­ti­ver Dis­kur­se“ und deren ver­meint­li­chen Export vom Zen­trum in die Kolo­ni­en. Statt­des­sen ana­ly­sie­re ich trans­na­tio­na­le Geis­tes­ge­schich­te im Hin­blick auf begriff­li­che und kon­zep­tio­nel­le Ände­run­gen, die im Pro­zess der Über­set­zung und Inter­pre­ta­ti­on ent­ste­hen und Ide­en in deut­schen Tex­ten zu einem Palim­psest beim Schrei­ben in Urdu wer­den las­sen. Das Pro­jekt dient somit einer kri­ti­schen, sozi­al­ge­schicht­li­chen Erfor­schung der Poli­tik des Über­set­zens von Begriffs-Kon­zep­ten und intel­lek­tu­el­lem Gedan­ken­gut.